Become a Member! Current Needs Contribute Now!

As a non-profit, we rely on the generous support of individuals, businesses, and foundations.

Follow Us Facebook

About the Peoria Historical Society

About UsThe roots of the Peoria Historical Society can be traced as far back as 1839. Incorporated in 1934 as the Peoria Historical Society, the purpose of the Society is to enhance the quality of life in the Peoria area by: collecting, preserving and displaying items relating to our history; encouraging and supporting historical research and education; and promoting and sustaining public interest in the history and contributions of our people and organizations.

The focus of our work has changed and evolved through the years, but our commitment to preservation remains strong. We offer programs for both local residents and out-of-town visitors. We seek to entertain the eye and stimulate the mind. We support historical scholarship and collaborate with other preservation organizations.

We look to the future . . . with a vision to be the community resource and advocate for historical preservation and research on the Peoria area, its organizations and its people. As a collaborative partner of the Peoria Riverfront Museum, we are pleased to have the opportunity to display some of the Society's artifacts and present the history of the Peoria area in the museum.


To preserve, share and celebrate the stories of the Peoria area.


Board of Directors

President Mark Johnson
Vice-President Deborah Dougherty
Secretary Jennifer C. Martin
Treasurer Jim Carballido
Past President Russ Crawford

Trustees & Commitee Chair Responsibilities

Susan Adcock    
Dr. Dean Antonio Cantù   Social Media  
John Haverhals  Historic Homes  
Nick Hayward    
Mary Dubois    
Brent Goken    
Beth Jensen  Legal  
Kevin Kizer    
Jon C. Neidy    
John Parks, Jr.    
Stacy Peterson  Membership   
Gerd Prewett    
Steven Streight    
Jeff Thomas    
Councilman W. Eric Turner    
Bradley University Special Collections Charles Frey  
DAR Regent Susan Bock   
John C. Flanagan House Manager Linda Herron  
PRM Representative / HPC Sid P. Ruckriegel  
Presidential Appointment Richard Schwebel  
Pettengill-Morron House Manager Kathy Dallinger  
Timeline Editor

Jennifer C. Martin

Facebook / Scanning & Photography

Chris Coulter

Executive Director Walter C. Ruppman

Curator of Collection and Technology 

Robert Killion

Office Manager

Judy Earleson

Quarterly Lecture Series

The Society holds a Quarterly Lecture Series. Members, non-members and guests are welcome. Click title to learn more for speakers and topics.

Website Design by Shane Updyke. Development and Hosting by Stellar Systems, Inc.